UCLA MAE Professor Xiaochun Li has been chosen as a 2021 fellow by the National Academy of Inventors, along with three other professors from the UCLA Samueli School of Engineering.

Xiaochun Li is the Raytheon Endowed Chair in Manufacturing. He is a pioneer and has made groundbreaking contributions in both science and commercial applications of nanotechnology enabled metals processing and embedded micro/nano sensors in manufacturing. He has published more than 200 journal papers and holds 22 granted patents. He is a recipient of 2002 NSF CAREER award, 2003 Jiri Tlusty Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award from Society of Manufacturing Engineers, and 2008 Howard F. Taylor Award from American Foundry Society.

The National Academy of Inventors is a member organization comprising U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutes, with over 4,000 individual inventor members and fellows spanning more than 250 institutions worldwide. To date, academy fellows hold more than 48,000 issued U.S. patents, which have generated over 13,000 licensed technologies and companies and created more than one million jobs. In addition, more than $3 trillion in revenue has been generated based on academy fellow discoveries.

The 2021 fellows will be inducted June 15, 2022, as part of the 11th National Academy of Inventors conference in Phoenix, Arizona.

Adapted from an article by Matthew Chin.