Personal tools
Home People Faculty

UCLA MAE Faculty

abdou_100.jpg Mohamed Abdou, Ph.D.
Professor
abdou@fusion.ucla.edu
310-206-0501
Fusion, nuclear, and mechanical engineering design, testing, and system analysis, thermomechanics; thermal hydraulics; neutronics, plasma-material interactions; blankets and high heat flux components; experiments, modeling and analysis.
bendiksen2_100.jpg Oddvar Bendiksen, Ph.D.
Professor
oddvar@seas.ucla.edu
310-206-5453
Classical and computational aeroelasticity, structural dynamics and unsteady aerodynamics.
carman_100.jpg Greg Carman, Ph.D.
Professor
carman@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-6030
Nanoscale Multiferroic materials, piezoelectric materials, magnetostrictive materials, thin film shape memory alloys, fiber optic sensors.
carnesale_100.jpg Albert Carnesale, Ph.D.
UCLA Chancellor Emeritus
Professor of Public Policy and Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
acarnesale@ucla.edu
310-267-4353
Public policy issues having substantial scientific and technological dimensions, including national security strategy, arms control, nuclear proliferation, the effects of technological change on foreign and defense policy, domestic and international energy issues, and higher education.
catton_100.jpg Ivan Catton, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
catton@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-5320
Heat transfer and fluid mechanics, transport phenomena in porous media, nucleonics heat transfer and thermal hydraulics, natural and forced convection, thermal/hydrodynamic stability, turbulence.
chen_100.jpg Yong Chen, Ph.D.
Professor
yongchen@seas.ucla.edu
310-206-2453
Nanofabrication. Nanoscale electronic materials and devices. Micro-Nano electronic/optical/bio/mechanical systems. Ultra-scale spatial and temporal characterization.
chiou_100.jpg Pei-Yu Chiou, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
pychiou@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-8620
Biophotonics, nanophotonics, BioMEMS/NEMS, electrokinetics, microfluidics and biofluidics, guided self-assembly, high throughput single cell analysis.
dhir_color2_100.jpg Vijay Dhir, Ph.D.
Professor and Dean
Henry Samueli School of Engineering and Applied Science
vdhir@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-8507
Two-phase heat transfer, boiling and condensation, thermal and hydrodynamic stability, thermal hydraulics of nuclear reactors, microgravity heat transfer, soil remediation.
eldredge_100.jpg Jeff Eldredge, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
eldredge@seas.ucla.edu
310-206-5094
Fluid mechanics and acoustics, interaction of fluid flow and sound, control of acoustically-driven instabilities, and fluid particle-based computational techniques.
rajit_100.jpg Rajit Gadh, Ph.D.
Professor
gadh.gif
310-267-4892
Radio Frequency Identification (RFID), Wireless Internet of Artifacts, Reconfigurable Wireless Sensing and Networking Systems, Wireless Multimedia Architectures, Smart Grid, Wireless Sensing and Cloud Computing for Demand Response and for Electric Vehicle Energy Aggregation in Smart Grid, CAD/CAM/VR/Visualization.
ghoniem2_100.jpg Nasr Ghoniem, Ph.D.
Professor
ghoniem@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-4866
Damage and Failure of Materials in Mechanical Design; Mechanics and Physics of Material Defects (point defects, dislocations, voids and cracks); Material Degradation in Severe Environments (e.g. Nuclear, Fusion, Rocket Engines, etc.); Plasma and Laser Processing; Materials Non-equilibrium, Pattern formation and Instability Phenomena; Radiation Interaction with Materials (neutrons, electrons, particles, laser & photons).
gibson_100.jpg Steven Gibson, Ph.D.
Professor
gibson@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-9362
Control and identification of dynamical systems. Optimal and adaptive control of distributed systems, including flexible structures and fluid flows. Adaptive filtering, identification, and noise cancellation.
goebel.jpg Dan M. Goebel, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
dgoebel@ucla.edu
Electric propulsion, high efficiency ion and Hall thrusters, cathodes, high voltage engineering, microwave devices and microwave communications, pulsed power.
gupta-100.jpg Vijay Gupta, Ph.D.
Professor
vgupta@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-0223
Experimental mechanics, fracture of engineering solids, mechanics of thin films and interfaces, failure mechanisms and characterization of composite materials, ice mechanics, use of high frequency laser-generated acoustic pulses for dissociation of intercellular and cell-to-Ti bonds for the treatment of arrhythmias and development of efficient titanium implants.
hahn_100.jpg Thomas Hahn, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
hahn@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-2383
Multifunctional composites, nanocomposites, nanomanufacturing, energy harvest/storage systems.
ho_100.jpg Chih-Ming Ho, Ph.D.
Professor
chihming@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-9993
Combinatorial drug therapeutics, Bio-molecular diagnostics, Feedback System Control (FSC) technique,  Micro/Nano-electro-Mechanical-Systems, Microfluidics, Turbulence.
hong_100_actual.jpg Dennis Hong, Ph.D.
Professor
dennishong@ucla.edu
(310) 825-9471
Humanoids & Bipedal Robots, Robot Locomotion & Manipulation, Soft Actuators, Robotic Platforms, Autonomous Vehicles, Machine Design, Kinematics & Mechanisms.
hopkins_100.jpg Jonathan B. Hopkins, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
hopkins@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-8091
Design, analysis, and fabrication of sophisticated flexible structures that possess extraordinary capabilities.
hu_100.jpg Yongjie Hu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
yhu@seas.ucla.edu
Heat transfer and electron transport in nanostructures, interfaces & packaging. Thermal, electronic, optoelectronic, thermoelectric devices and systems. Energy conversion, storage and thermal management. Ultrafast optical spectroscopy and high-frequency electronics. Nanomaterials design, processing and manufacturing.
iwasaki_100_new.jpg Tetsuya Iwasaki, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair for Graduate Affairs
iwasaki@seas.ucla.edu
310-206-2533
Neuronal control mechanism of animal locomotion, nonlinear oscillators, and robust/nonlinear control theory and its applications to mechanical, aerospace, and electrical systems.
ju_100.jpg Y. Sungtaek Ju, Ph.D.
Professor
just@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-0985
Micro- and nanoscale thermosciencs, energy, bioMEMS/NEMS, nanofabrication.
karagozian_jan2009_100.jpg Ann Karagozian, Ph.D.
Professor
ark@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-5653
Fluid mechanics and combustion, with applications to improved engine efficiency, reduced emissions, alternative fuels, and advanced high speed air breathing and rocket propulsion systems.
kavehpour_100.jpg Pirouz Kavehpour, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
pirouz@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-6494
Microfluidics and biofluidics, biofuel cells, cardiovascular flow, complex fluids, interfacial physics, micro-tribology, non-isothermal flows, drug delivery systems, and artificial organs.
kimcj_color_new_100.jpg Chang-Jin Kim, Ph.D.
Professor
cjkim@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-0267
Microelectromechanical systems (MEMS), surface-tension-based microactuation, nanotechnology for surface control, microdevices including microfluidic applications, full spectrum of micromachining technologies.
kimj2_color_100.jpg John Kim, Ph.D.
Professor
jkim@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-4393
Numerical simulation of transitional and turbulent flows, turbulence and heat-transfer control, numerical algorithms for computational physics.
klug_100.jpg William Klug, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
klug@seas.ucla.edu
310-794-7347
Computational structural and solid mechanics, computational biomechanics, and micro/nanomechanics of biological systems.
lackman_100.jpg Les M. Lackman, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
lackman@seas.ucla.edu
310-794-5444
Mechanics of composite materials.
lavine3_100.jpg Adrienne Lavine, Ph.D.
Professor
lavine@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-7468
Solar thermal energy storage, thermal energy harvesting, thermal control of nanoscale manufacturing, thermomechanical behavior of shape memory alloys, thermal aspects of manufacturing processes including machining and plasma thermal spray.
prof xiaochun li_100.jpg Xiaochun Li, Ph.D.
Professor
xcli@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-2383
Scifacturing (science-driven manufacturing as the next level of manufacturing), interdisciplinary areas of innovative manufacturing and materials processing, Solid Freeform Fabrication (Additive Manufacturing), nanoscience and nanotechnology, laser micro/nano materials processing, and process/system integration.
liou_100.jpg K. N. Liou, Ph.D.
Distiguished Professor
Department of Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences
knliou@atmos.ucla.edu
310-825-5039
Atmospheric radiative transfer, remote sensing of clouds and aerosols, and climate/clouds-aerosols research.
lynch_new_small.jpg Chris Lynch, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair for Industrial Relations
cslynch@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-7660
Ferroelectric materials including experimental characterization of constitutive behavior under multiaxial loading.
mcloskey_100.jpg Robert M'Closkey, Ph.D.
Professor
rtm@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-2909
Nonlinear control theory and design with application to mechanical and aerospace systems, real-time implementation.
mal_100.jpg Ajit Mal, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice Chair for Undergraduate Affairs
ajit@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-5481
Mechanics of solids, fractures and failure, wave propagation, nondestructive evaluation, composite materials, structural health monitoring, biomechanics.
marner_100.jpg Webb Marner, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
marner@ucla.edu
310-206-4830
Thermal sciences, system design.
mills_new_photo2_100.jpg Anthony Mills, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus
amills@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-3583
Convective heat and mass transfer, condensation heat transfer, turbulent flows, ablation and transpiration cooling, perforated plate heat exchangers.
morley3_color.jpg Neil Morley, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
morley@fusion.ucla.edu
310-206-1230
Magnetohydrodynamics of free surface and closed channel liquid metal flows in strong magnetic fields and with complex geometries.
mosleh_100.jpg Ali Mosleh, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Evelyn Knight Chair in Engineering
mosleh@ucla.edu
Reliability engineering, physics of failure modeling and system life prediction, resilient systems design, prognostics and health monitoring, hybrid systems simulation, theories and techniques for risk and safety analysis.
pilon_20130805.jpg Laurent Pilon, Ph.D.
Professor
pilon@seas.ucla.edu
310-206-5598
Radiation transfer, applied optics, interfacial and transport phenomena, nanostructured materials for energy applications such as pyroelectric energy conversion, energy storage systems, photosynthetic production of biofuels.
rosen_100.jpg Jacob Rosen, Ph.D.
Professor
rosen@seas.ucla.edu
Biorobotics; Human centered robotics, medical robotics (surgery and rehabilitation), wearable robotics (exoskeleton), teleoperation, haptics and virtual reality, biomechanics, neuromuscular control, and human-machine interfaces.
VJSantos_headshot_071714_corrected_100x100.jpg Veronica Santos, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
vjsantos@ucla.edu
310-825-2125
Human-machine systems, robotics, prosthetics, tactile sensors, haptics, hand biomechanics, neural control of movement, stochastic modeling, and clinical applications of biomechanical modeling.
sepulveda_100.jpg Abdon Sepulveda, Ph.D.
Assistant Adjunct Professor
abdon.sepulveda@gmail.com
310-206-0095
Multidisciplinary structural and system optimization, finite elements, reliability, alternative analysis, control systems, nanoscale multiferroic materials, piezoelectric materials, energy harvesting, energy storage.
sharafat-100.jpg Robert Shaefer, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
robert.shaefer@ucla.edu
310-794-5990
Model development for FW surface roughening, measurement of tungsten armor, modeling of helium implantation in SiC.
siegel_100.jpg Neil Siegel, Ph.D.
Adjunct Professor
neil.siegel@ngc.com
310-764-3003
Analysis of major elements of systems engineering processes; system life-cycles.
speyer-100.jpg Jason L. Speyer, Ph.D.
Professor
speyer@seas.ucla.edu
310-206-4451
Stochastic and deterministic optimal control and estimation with application to aerospace systems; guidance, flight control, and flight mechanics.
tsao_100.jpg Tsu-Chin Tsao, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair
ttsao@seas.ucla.edu
310-206-2819
Modeling and control of dynamic systems with applications in mechanical systems, manufacturing processes, automotive systems, and energy systems, digital control; repetitive and learning control, adaptive and optimal control, mechatronics.
warrier.jpg Gopinath Warrier, Ph.D.
Associate Adjunct Professor
gwarrier@ucla.edu
310-825-9617
Near-critical heat transfer, phase-change heat transfer and multiphase flows.
wirz_new_100.jpg Richard Wirz, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
wirz@ucla.edu
310-825-5489
Electric and micro propulsion, low temperature plasma and plasma discharges, spacecraft and space mission design, alternative energy generation and storage.
Zhong-face_100.jpg Xiaolin Zhong, Ph.D.
Professor
xiaolin@seas.ucla.edu
310-825-2905
Computational fluid dynamics; hypersonic flows, development of new very high-order numerical methods; numerical simulation of hypersonic boundary layer receptivity, stability, and transition; numerical simulation of real-gas hypersonic flow; development of high-order immersed interface method for flow simulations; DNS of strong shock interaction with turbulence; numerical simulation studies of wave energy harvesting devices.