Ronald and Valerie Sugar Endowed Chair and Distinguished Professor Jason Speyer was selected for the Class of 2020 American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Honorary Fellows. The induction ceremony for the new Fellows and Honorary Fellows will take place on 19 May 2020. They will also be recognized on 20 May 2020 at the AIAA Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington, D.C.

“The 2020 Class of AIAA Honorary Fellows and Fellows have earned the respect and gratitude of the aerospace community for their dedication, creativity and contribution to better understanding our world in terms of its limits and how we can push past those boundaries,” said John Langford, AIAA president. They are the best minds in the industry. I congratulate them on this career accomplishment.”

Honorary Fellow is the highest distinction conferred by AIAA and recognizes preeminent individuals who have had long and highly contributory careers in aerospace and who embody the highest possible standards in aeronautics and astronautics.

The 2020 Honorary Fellows are:

  • Robert D. Briskman; Telecommunications Engineering Consultants
  • Wesley G. Bush; Northrop Grumman Corporation (retired)
  • Jason L. Speyer; University of California, Los Angeles

 UCLA Samueli Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering